The Girl in the Green Headband

A Conversation:

Any New Year’s resolutions?

Mmm…not really. Just vague goals really.

Like what? Give me an example.

To be more bold. To live boldly.

That’s a good one.

Yeah? You don’t think it’s vague?

Not at all. I was just thinking the other day that I could use some boldness in my own life.

Yeah? How do you mean?

Well, just the other day, I was waiting for the subway and a girl across the tracks caught my eye.

Was she cute?

Yea, but that’s not what got my attention.

<laughs> Whatever you say.

No really. She was cute, but it was more what she was wearing.

What was she wearing?

She was wearing this neon green head band and had this really bright shade of red lipstick on. I could just tell by the way she was dressed that she had a really playful personality. You know…fun. Everyone else on the platform was wearing gray coats, looking kind of depressed you know?

Yea.

So she stuck out.

Did something happen?

Well, no not exactly. Has that ever happened to you though? Where you’re in a subway station, and you see someone, and you’re kind of checking her out, secretly hoping that she’s checking you out too?

Yea.

So yeah, I felt like that was what we were doing. But you can never really tell if she’s checking you out too you know?

True.

So anyways, I’m sneaking glances at her, and in my head she’s doing the same.

<laughs> Whatever you say man.

No, wait…let me finish. So we’re playing this little game, and she starts…I don’t know…dancing?

Dancing? Was she listening to music?

No see, that’s the weird part. No music, no iPhone or anything. She just starts to kind of sway. And she’s wearing these boots, and she starts trying to balance herself on the heels.

Weird. Maybe she’s trying to get your attention.

Yeah, that’s what I was thinking in my head too. But like I said, you can never really tell if the other person’s got you in their sights too. I tend to create these narratives for myself and in these happy stories, the girl is always checking me out. <laughs> I feel dumb for even sharing this.

Hey, you never know right? Anyways, what happened next?

So this was the funny part. My train started approaching the station and she starts smiling.

At you?

I think so. I pretended not to look at her, but I can see her smiling.

Uh-huh.

I get into the train and I take a seat next to the window and…now we’re making eye contact. And now I’m smiling too.

<laughs> Did you do anything?

No, but get this. She blows me a kiss.

<laughs> What the heck? That’s like some movie shit right there.

I know right? This sort of thing never happens to me. And now, I can’t get the girl out of my head. I don’t even know her.

Good story. And you know, you’re right. That IS bold. We can learn a thing or two from this girl.

Oh, I wasn’t talking about her. I was talking about what a bold guy would have done in that situation.

<laughs> Tell me. What would a bold man have done?

Jump the tracks to say hello.

Wow.

Yeah. What do you think? You think we’ll be able to jump the track this year?

I don’t know.

Hey, we can try right? Get to the other side or get run over trying.

<laughs> Amen brother.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Girl in the Green Headband

  1. Sandra Pan

    Did she really blow you a kiss?? I seriously can’t tell if your stories are real!!

Leave a Reply

