The Ideal Girl

I like this question: “What’s your type?”

Such a great conversation starter because EVERYONE has a type and more often than not, your answer reveals a little something about who you are. Problem is, I’ve always had a hard time answering it.

Not because I don’t know…I most certainly do.

But how do you articulate all those qualities into words? Most of the time, I can respond with a feeble, “Well, I look for humor because humor is the most important thing to me.” But really, that doesn’t do the question justice.

When someone asks me, “What’s your type?” I want to transmit the deep gut feeling I get when I see her. When someone asks me that, I want to open up my chest and have them see for themselves, feel that same wrenching longing, and say, “Ah! I get what you’re saying.”

They need to see that while it’s a great question, the answer shouldn’t be relegated to the incompetence of words.

So what’s the best way to answer, I wondered.

They say that a picture is worth a thousand words, but who needs words? We’re talking about people here right? When someone asks, “What’s your type?”, they’re asking about a person. In other words, DESCRIBE YOUR IDEAL GIRL.

You can’t do that with a picture or with words…you can only do it with characters. I propose that to really understand, who MY type of girl is, you have to look at characters I’ve had crushes on in the past.

Movies, TV shows, commercials, Youtube clips, what have you…they’ve all given us characters we connect with on some level. Think about celebrity crushes…If you compiled a list of all the celebrities or characters you’ve ever had a fantasy crush on, wouldn’t this be a pretty accurate reflection of who your type is?

To my own demise, I’ve constructed such a list for your viewing pleasure. Some may strike you as odd, but please keep in mind that I’ll be presenting them in roughly chronological order. So some will go back to when I was ohh…5 years old?

Let’s begin:

1. Gadget Hackwrench (Rescue Rangers)

She's plucky, cute as a button and holds down her own when she's with the boys.

2. Belle (Beauty and the Beast)

The Perfect Disney Princess. She's a bookworm, loves you for who you are on the inside, and that small wisp of hair she kept brushing back had some haunting effect on me. Even to this day.

3. Kimberly Hart a.k.a The Pink Ranger (Power Rangers)

Because she looks so cute in pink.

4. Summer Quinn (Baywatch)

On a cast that included Yasmin Bleeth and Pamela Anderson, I went with the flatter, but way cuter Nicole Eggert. I sense a pattern emerging. (Sidenote: Baywatch was like MUST SEE TV for me and my sister. I was genuinely enraptured by the plotlines which in retrospect isn't the point of Baywatch at all).

5. Lois Lane (Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman)

My first lust crush. Teri Hatcher (Pre-Desperate Housewives) was certainly the kryptonite to my puberty.

6. The Sassy Korean Girl (My Sassy Girl)

Because it would be ridiculous if my list didn't have an Asian girl on it.

7. Sara Thomas (Serendipity)

The character who launched my long and well-documented love affair with Kate Beckinsale. Occasionally, I'll find myself looking on the back of dollar bills or inside the front cover of used books JUST IN CASE Sara Thomas' number is written down and real after all.

8. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter)

Funny Story: When Harry Potter 4 came out in theaters, I was still in college. Like a bunch of dorks we went to the midnight showing and the theater was PACKED. When Hermione came on the screen, the crowd was completely silent until one brave dude just belted out..."OMG! Hermione, you're so hot!" The male audience erupted in applause and approval. We were all collectively relieved that we weren't pedophiles after all.

9. Claire Cleary (Wedding Crashers)

Out of anyone on this list, she's who I would most want to meet. Her smile alone would make me forget that she was willing to cheat on her fiance to roll with a crooked-nosed crasher of weddings.

10. Sloan McQuewick (Entourage)

Sloan represents the impossible ideal. Hotness combined with grace, elegance, humor and grounded-ness. We're talking Brad Pitt in Meet Joe Black type of impossible.

So yeah, a bit of a silly list.

But look it over. Doesn’t that give you a fairly good idea of “who my type is”?

You got it? Ok…

Now be a good friend and find her for me.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Ideal Girl

  1. hanna kim

    again i say… this doesn’t exist. let’s stop asking for the impossible, shall we? 🙂

Leave a Reply

