Find Me a JOB, Mr. President

They say that youth is wasted on the young.

Well, I say that internet bandwidth is wasted on 1st generation Korean-American parents.

My parents are, for lack of a better term, internet-retarded. My dad especially. I remember having a long discussion with him this one time trying to explain why people chat online. He couldn’t understand why we don’t just pick up the phone and call.

I tried explaining to him the difference between a telephone call and an internet chat. He stared me straight in the eye and nodded as if he understood.

The next day I get a G-chat from him, which read the following:

Chris, this is Dad. Call me.

My Dad, Internet RETARD.

So imagine my surprise when I saw his name pop up on my Linkedin network, the complex social networking site for professionals.

He even had a profile. This is what it read:

Larry Paek. President of IHOP. This must be the grand poobah of resume hyperbole.

But that’s just between you and me, ok?

Because while I see a man who sleeps everyday at 3 PM in plain view of his employees while his wife runs the small IHOP in Anaheim, CA, Linkedin suggests that I share the same last name as IHOP President Larry Sunghun Paek.

They say it’s all about who you know…and with his endorsement, it’s only a matter of time before I’ll be flipping pancakes for a living.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Find Me a JOB, Mr. President

  1. chris, you CRACK me up!!

    that is all.

  2. epido

    Hi.lar.i.ous! And btw, youth IS wasted on the young! Kids are sort of life retarded.

Leave a Reply

