My Turtle, Cheetah

When I was 7:

Where’s Cheetah?!

He ran away.

Huh? He ran away? How’d he get out of his cage?

He jumped out.

Oh…how is he going to eat?

There are leaves and grass and berries. He left because he was hungry.

Oh…but isn’t he going to be lonely?

No, he has a lot of forest friends. Birds, squirrels, snakes…

Snakes?!

No, no snakes. Bunnies. He has so many friends.

Oh…so, he’s going to be happy.

Much happier than when he was in his cage.

Well, as long as he’s happy, then I’m happy.

Clean up for dinner.

Ok.

When I was 23:

Wait…Mom. Cheetah…he didn’t run away did he?

No.

What happened to him?

His cage smelled, so I put him outside to air it out. I forgot to bring him in. The sun shriveled him up and only his shell was left.

Oh my GOD, he died?!

Yes.

He never got to be with his friends?

No.

You lied?

Yes.

Oh.

Yep.

Let’s go to Olive Garden for dinner. I’ll buy.

Ok.

You lied?

Yes. But you were happy weren’t you?

Yeah, I guess I was. I was happier then.

When?

When I was 7. When I believed everything you said.

Cypher: I’m tired, Trinity. I’m tired of this war. I’m tired of fighting. I’m tired of this ship, being cold, eating the same goddamn goop everyday. But most of all, I’m tired of that jack-off and all his bullshit.

Trinity: You gave them Morpheus.

Cypher: He lied to us, Trinity. He tricked us. If you’d have told us the truth, we woulda told you to shove that red pill right up your ass.

Trinity: That’s not true, Cypher, he set us free.

Cypher: Free? You call this free? All I do is what he tells me to do. If I had to choose between that and the Matrix, I choose the Matrix.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Turtle, Cheetah

  1. clov3

    did you know that it was your parents who left you a dollar under your pillow, and not the tooth fairy too? 😦 that should be a conversation for the boiling crab…

  2. gina choi

    that last sentence…word.

Leave a Reply

