Funny What Helps Sometimes

I have a ton of work to do this week, so naturally, I’ve been distracted by HBO.

Yesterday, it was Moulin Rouge.

I’ve seen this movie at least a dozen times in the past, but for whatever reason, I got all emotional this time around.

This is a sudden and disturbing change for me, by the way. It wasn’t always like this. Before the last year or two, I was an absolute robot. No movie, no matter how sad or emotional, could make me cry. In fact, the last time I can recall crying in a movie was 1991 when Terminator 2 came out. It was the last scene of the movie, when Arnold was being lowered into the pool of lava. The moment that really did me in was when he gave that little thumbs up before his hand disappeared forever. I bawled my pretty little eyes out.

It must have left some serious emotional scars, because from 1991-2008, I couldn’t cry in movies.

But like I said, the last couple years have been different. Lately, I find myself welling up in movies like Up, Marley and Me, My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Maybe this is part of me growing up, becoming more self-aware of emotions, being in touch with the sensitive side of my nature. I honestly don’t know what’s going on with me.

Whatever the case may be, here I am the other night, sitting in my room alone, CRYING at the end of Moulin Rouge.

This guy, Ewan McGregor LOVES his girl so much and at the absolute climax of his happiness…she dies. What the hell man.

After the movie ended, I sort of just sat there in my papasan chair, reflecting on how terrible it must be to lose someone you love so deeply. I would be devastated.

All of a sudden, the stress of midterms just melted away. School work just seemed trivial and unimportant. As long as I have love, I told myself, I can do ANYTHING. These midterms are NOTHING compared to the power of love. I had a sudden surge of motivation as I flipped open my books.

I got through the first paragraph when I took a sudden pause.

Wait.  Wait a minute…

Midterms are nothing compared to the power of love? What? Did that thought really happen?

It’s official people. Midterm week is here and I’ve gone straight over the edge. Straight to the looney bin.

If you see me, do me a favor:

I need a good hard, healthy slap in the balls.

Please.

I deserve it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

