If You Live in Manhattan…

If you live in Manhattan, you’d know this to be true. During rush hour, heading up to Harlem on the A-train express, it’s standing room only, but I always manage to grab a seat.

I walk in, find white people who are sitting down, stand by them and sure enough, they get off on 59th.

If you live in Manhattan you know that there’s a color barrier at Columbus Circle.

Does that make me a racist or a realist? Is there even a difference at this point?

I don’t have an answer to that question, but I do know this.

In the morning, on my way to work, when I have the most energy and bounce to my step, I don’t scan for seats. I’m perfectly content to avoid racial profiling in favor of standing.

But after a long day of work, when I’m tired and my feet are screaming, I shamelessly engage in my little subway social experiment on race, socioeconomic status, and gentrification.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that at the end of the day, I’m a bit more racist/realist than I care to admit.

Just like everybody else.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

